$1,000 No-Limit Hold'em Opening Event

Welcome to the Crown's 2012 Aussie Millions Poker Championship

Welcome to the 2012 Aussie Millions Poker Championship here at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia. This marks the 10th Anniversary of the Aussie Millions, a series that has gained more prestige each and every year; in fact, leading up to today’s start, we at PokerNews took a historical look back at the Aussie Millions, including how it found it’s feet from 2003-2007, to the booming years of 2008-present, so be sure to check those out before today’s action.

Speaking of which, the Event 1: $1,100 Opening Event kicks off this evening and is the first of 26 events that will be spread over the next two and a half weeks. This particular event will have three different starting days and is featured as a “repecharge”, which means which means that if a player busts on Day 1a or 1b, they will have the option of buying back in on Day 1c.

Last year, this very event drew 1,000 entrants, including 762 unique players (remember, this event is repecharge). A laundry list of notables entered that event including James Akenhead, Annette Obrestad, Maria Ho, Tony Dunst, Richard Ashby, and then-reigning Aussie Millions Champ Tyron Krost. Unfortunately for them all, the tournament belonged to Martin Drewe, who outlasted them all to claim the AUD$200,020 first-place prize.

While we won’t have a winner for a few days, the first flight of Day 1 is the first step to becoming the first Crown Aussie Millions Poker Champion. We’re expecting a strong turnout from the Australian contingent, and perhaps a notable or two from overseas. Only time will tell who’ll play as we get ready to celebrate the Aussie Millions’ 10th Anniversary with the first event of 2012.

2011 Aussie Millions Event #1 Final Table Payouts

PlacePlayerWinnings (AUD)
1stMartin Drewe$200,000
2ndDarren Kramer$128,220
3rdJustin Cohen$85,220
4thNik Lackovic$65,220
5thVito Dalessadri$52,220
6thAntoine Bechara$42,220
7thGabriel Xiourouppa$32,220
8thScott Montgomery$22,220
9thJonathan Palmer$15,020

Action is set to get underway at 7:10 PM EDT, so be sure to join us for all the action, live, from the floor of the Crown’s Aussie Millions Poker Championship.