A ruling was just made over on Table 27 that did not sit well with the table, especially with McLean Karr. From what we could piece together, two players took their seats and proceeded to play a hand. The player in Seat 3, someone Karr was familiar with, cold four-bet him right off the bat and ended up winning the hand. It was then discovered that the two recently-seated players had sat in the wrong seats.
The floor was called about the mix up and ruled that since a hand had been played, the players would each be given a one-round penalty but be allowed to stay in the "wrong" seats. Karr was furious with the decision, explaining that it was too exploitable and setting a terrible precedent.
The entire table disagreed with the ruling, but the floor was firm in his decision. He also noted that Table 27 would be the first to break, meaning the situation wouldn't last all day.
Karr was unhappy with the ruling, and as if things couldn't get any worse, he was robbed on the following hand. It happened on the river with a board reading and Karr rolled over , showing that he had been counterfeited. His opponent, not seeing this, started to slide his cards towards the muck when the player in Seat 5 mentions that Karr only had six high. His opponent then flipped over his for ace high and the win.
"What the hell is going on in this tournament?" Karr asked in disgust after scolding Seat 5, who immediately realized his folly. Karr's opponent admitted that he would have mucked had it not been for Seat 5.
We should also note that the floor staff consulted one another on the mis-seated players and reassigned them to random seat in the tournament area after they returned from their penalty, a decision that pleased everyone involved . . . even Karr.