$10,000 Main Event

Former Champion Krost Looking for First Cash Since Winning

• Level 15: 2,500-5,000, 500 ante
Tyron Krost (Day 1b)

Tyron Krost has a chance to finish in the money in the Aussie Millions Main Event for the first time since he won the event in 2010. How does that compare to deep runs of other former champions following their big win? Let's take a look.

Peter Costa was the first winner of the event in 2003, but has not cashed in the Aussie Millions Main Event since. Tony Bloom won the event in 2004, and he placed 43rd in 2006 for AU$12,540. Also in 2006, the 2005 champion Jamil Dia finished 39th for AU$12,540.

Lee Nelson conquered the 2006 Aussie Millions Main Event field for victory, and he has made two deep runs since. In 2007, Nelson placed 36th for AU$27,500. Then just last year, Nelson nearly made the final table, but fell in ninth place for AU$125,000.

Gus Hansen won the event in 2007 and placed 23rd in 2010 for AU$50,000.

Subsequent champions (Alexander Kostritsyn in 2008, Stewart Scott in 2009, Krost in 2010, David Gorr in 2011 and Oliver Speidel in 2012) have not cashed since.

Tags: Alexander KostritsynDavid GorrGus HansenLee NelsonOliver SpeidelPeter CostaStewart ScottTony BloomTyron Krost