Main Event
Dage:

Can You Hear Me Now?

[user66118]
Ty Reiman

Every now and then, we see one of poker's basic lessons being re-learned the hard way by a relatively inexperienced player.

This time, the issue was regarding the use of headphones and the responsibility of the player to follow the action regardless. The pot in question involved 2010 PCA finalist Ty Reiman (who wasn't the headphone wearer), and we walked up to the river of a {7-Clubs} {5-Spades} {2-Hearts} {10-Hearts} 8s} board. The gentleman we don't recognize was leading the betting, and he flicked out a blue T5,000 chip and announced "Forty-eight twenty-five." The dealer heard the amount as 2,825, though, and he announced that as the bet.

"Twenty-eight twenty-five."

The gentleman who'd made the bet is enjoying a bit of loud after-dinner music on his Beats headphones, and it became clear that he couldn't hear a thing outside of his playlist.

Reiman was debating a call, and he asked, "Twenty-eight twenty-five?" to make sure. The dealer confirmed, the opposing player didn't even hear it, and Reiman made that call. He ended up winning the pot with {A-Hearts} {8-Hearts} against his opponent's {A-Clubs} {K-Hearts}, but Mr. Opponent called the floor to argue that the action was incorrect, and that Reiman might have folded to his intended bet of 4,825.

The essence of the floor ruling — and we've heard this before — is that the player with headphones on failed to correct the error when given a couple chances to do so, and the bet was allowed to stand as 2,825.

"That was probably good for you," Reiman reached out. "If it makes you feel any better, I probably would have called anyways."

Chip stacks
Ty Reiman us 76,000 21,000

Tags: Ty Reiman